17.7 C
Monday, September 25, 2023
EuropeMEP Lidia Pereira leads call to Charles Michel on Belarus

MEP Lidia Pereira leads call to Charles Michel on Belarus

DISCLAIMER: Information and opinions reproduced in the articles are the ones of those stating them and it is their own responsibility. Publication in The European Times does not automatically means endorsement of the view, but the right to express it.

DISCLAIMER TRANSLATIONS: All articles in this site are published in English. The translated versions are done through an automated process known as neural translations. If in doubt, always refer to the original article. Thank you for understanding.

Juan Sanchez Gil
Juan Sanchez Gil
Juan Sanchez Gil - at The European Times News - Mostly in the back lines. Reporting on corporate, social and governmental ethics issues in Europe and internationally, with emphasis on fundamental rights. Also giving voice to those not being listened to by the general media.

More from the author

#WithBelarus: Young Parliamentarians call for Tsikhanouskaya to address European Council

Brussels. Young parliamentarians and youth-political organizations from across Europe have today published an open letter to European Council President Charles Michel urging him to invite the leader of the Belarusian opposition, Svetlana Tsikhanouskaya, to address this week’s meeting of the European Council. The initiative is being spearheaded by the President of the Youth of the European People’s Party (YEPP) Lidia Pereira MEP.

withBelarus yepp campaign MEP Lidia Pereira leads call to Charles Michel on Belarus
WithBelarus is the campaign being run by YEPP parliamentarians from across Europe in support of the people of Belarus. YEPP is the youth organization of the European People’s Party that brings together 63 center-right youth political organizations from 39 countries across Europe

Dear President Charles Michel,

In August of this year, following the Belarusian Presidential election, the Youth of the European People’s Party (YEPP) launched a campaign called #WithBelarus to show our support for the people of Belarus and send them a clear message of European solidarity. This campaign has drawn support from our member organizations and young parliamentarians from across Europe. As you are aware, the situation in Belarus has continued to escalate and protestors continue to risk their own safety by taking to the streets to make their voices heard.

Each day protestors are being arrested and tortured for opposing the Lukashenko regime and this fight will not end until their demand for democratic change is met. In light of this, we see it as imperative to invite the leader of the Belarusian opposition, Svetlana Tsikhanouskaya, to address the upcoming meeting of the European Council. As Belarusian issues are European issues, it is crucial that the true voice of the Belarusian people is heard at the highest level of European politics. Inviting Ms. Tsikhanouskaya to address the meeting would be a clear statement showing that the European Union stands with the people of Belarus in their fight for a future that is democratic and free.

Yours sincerely:

  1. Lidia Pereira MEP, YEPP President, PSD, (Portugal)
  2. Siegfried Muresan, EPP Vice-President, PNL (Romania)
  3. Eva Maydell MEPGERB (Bulgaria)
  4. Sven Simon MEPCDU (Germany)
  5. Roberta Metsola MEPPN (Malta)
  6. Christophe Hansen MEPCSV (Luxembourg)
  7. Maria Walsh MEPFine Gael (Ireland)
  8. François-Xavier Bellamy MEP, LR (France)
  9. Stelios Kympouropoulos MEP, New Democracy (Greece)
  10. Tomáš Zdechovský MEP, KDU-ČSL (Czechia)
  11. Karlo Ressler MEPHDZ (Croatia)
  12. Isabel Benjumea MEPPartido Popular (Spain)
  13. Lukas Mandl MEPVolkspartei (Austria)
  14. Magdalena Adamowicz MEPIndependent (Poland)
  15. Arba Kokalari MEP, Moderaterna (Sweden)
  16. Neale Richmond MPFine Gael (Ireland)
  17. Kostas Kyranakis MP, New Democracy (Greece)
  18. Christos Dermentzopoulos MP, New Democracy (Greece)
  19. Evangelos Liakos MPNew Democracy (Greece)
  20. Yiannis Melas MP, New Democracy (Greece)
  21. Tasos Chatzivasileiou MPNew Democracy (Greece)
  22. Mara Mares MP, YEPP Vice President, PNL, (Romania) 
  23. Alexandre Poco, PSD (Portugal)
  24. Sofia Matos MP, PSD (Portugal)
  25. Andre Neves MP, PSD (Portugal)
  26. Margarida Balseiro Lopes MP, PSD (Portugal)
  27. Duarte Marques MP, PSD (Portugal)
  28. Barry Ward Senator, Fine Gael (Ireland)
  29. Pierre-Henri Dumont MP, LR (France)
  30. Diego Gago Bugarin MP, on behalf of young parliamentarians from Partido Popular (Spain)
  31. Pawel Kowal MPPO (Poland)
  32. Martina Kaufmann MPÖVP (Austria)
  33. Stijn De Roo MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  34. Maaike de rudder MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  35. Brecht Warnez MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  36. Orry Van de Wauwer MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  37. Nawal Farih MP, CD&V (Belgium)
  38. TLDM, Moldova
  39. KrFU, Norway
  40. KDU, Sweden
  41. JONGCD&V, Belgium
  42. JeunesCDH, Belgium
  43. YFG, Ireland
  44. JG SVP, Italy
  45. ONNED, Greece
  46. FIG, Italy
  47. JSD, Portugal
  48. NNGG, Spain
  49. MUF, Sweden
  50. TNL, Romania
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Must read

Latest articles

- Advertisement -