3.5 C
Friday, December 8, 2023
EnvironmentGet your cameras ready! EEA launches ZeroWaste PIX photo competition 2023

Get your cameras ready! EEA launches ZeroWaste PIX photo competition 2023

The European Times News aims to cover news that matter to increase the awareness of citizens all around geographical Europe.

This year we invite avid photographers across Europe to capture both the good — sustainable, and not so good — unsustainable — production and consumption patterns, habits and behaviours in our daily lives. This year’s European Environment Agency (EEA) photo competition ‘ZeroWaste PIX’, launched today, calls us all to reflect on the state of modern lifestyles.

The aim of ZeroWaste PIX is to raise awareness and inspire change, conveyed through photographs, whether it is an image of factories, landfills or a community garden that bring people together around a shared sense of purpose.

Our production systems and consumption patterns are vital aspects of our economy and livelihoods. As consumers, we enjoy numerous conveniences and benefits to our quality of live due to industrial production. However, we know this comes at a huge cost to our environment and increasingly to our own health and well-being. Our production and consumption systems have led to increased pollution and relentless resource extraction, degrading our nature and causing biodiversity loss.

Participants can enter photos in four categories:

  • Circular and smart
  • Eco-lifestyles
  • Wasteful production
  • Consumption mania

The winner of each category will receive a cash prize of EUR 1,000. Additional prizes are awarded to the best youth entry as well as the public’s favourite photo, determined by an online vote.

Participants have until Tuesday, 3 October 2023 to submit their photographs. Winning entries will be announced 10 November 2023.

Who can participate?

Participants have to be at least 18 years old and citizens of one of the 32 EEA member countries or six cooperating countries, including the 27 EU Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, Turkey, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo*, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Serbia.

Register HERE for the contest

Photo credit: Allen Giuseppe Amore, Picture2050/EEA

Source link

DISCLAIMER: Information and opinions reproduced in the articles are the ones of those stating them and it is their own responsibility. Publication in The European Times does not automatically means endorsement of the view, but the right to express it.

DISCLAIMER TRANSLATIONS: All articles in this site are published in English. The translated versions are done through an automated process known as neural translations. If in doubt, always refer to the original article. Thank you for understanding.

- Advertisement -

More from the author

- Advertisement -


  1. Bonjour,

    Puis-je obtenir le bulletin d’inscription concernant le concours photos et le règlement…
    Merci pour votre attention.

    Jean Daniel Ouvrard

Comments are closed.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Must read

Latest articles

- Advertisement -