16.6 C
Thursday, September 21, 2023
EducationWriter from Tanzania with a Nobel Prize for Literature

Writer from Tanzania with a Nobel Prize for Literature

DISCLAIMER: Information and opinions reproduced in the articles are the ones of those stating them and it is their own responsibility. Publication in The European Times does not automatically means endorsement of the view, but the right to express it.

DISCLAIMER TRANSLATIONS: All articles in this site are published in English. The translated versions are done through an automated process known as neural translations. If in doubt, always refer to the original article. Thank you for understanding.

Petar Gramatikov
Petar Gramatikovhttps://europeantimes.news
Dr. Petar Gramatikov is the Editor in Chief and Director of The European Times. He is a member of the Union of Bulgarian Reporters. Dr. Gramatikov has more than 20 years of Academic experience in different institutions for higher education in Bulgaria. He also examined lectures, related to theoretical problems involved in the application of international law in religious law where a special focus has been given to the legal framework of New Religious Movements, freedom of religion and self-determination, and State-Church relations for plural-ethnic states. In addition to his professional and academic experience, Dr. Gramatikov has more than 10 years Media experience where he hold a positions as Editor of a tourism quarterly periodical “Club Orpheus” magazine – “ORPHEUS CLUB Wellness” PLC, Plovdiv; Consultant and author of religious lectures for the specialized rubric for deaf people at the Bulgarian National Television and has been Accredited as a journalist from “Help the Needy” Public Newspaper at the United Nations Office in Geneva, Switzerland.

More from the author

Tanzanian writer Abdulrazak Gurna (1948), who grew up on Fr. Zanzibar, but moved to England as a refugee in the late 1960s, won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2021, according to the Nobel Committee of the Swedish Academy.

The prize was awarded to Gurna “for the uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of refugees in the predestination of cultures and continents,” the committee said.

Gurna grew up on the island of Zanzibar, but arrived in England as a refugee in the late 1960s.

He is the fifth African to win the Nobel Prize for Literature after Volley Soinka of Nigeria in 1986, Nagib Mahfouz of Egypt, who won in 1988; and South African winners Nadine Gordimer in 1991 and John Maxwell Quetzi in 2003.

He writes in English. Author of the novels Paradise / 1994 /, In the Sea / 2001 /, Desertion / 2005 /, etc., unpublished in Bulgarian. The first and second novels were nominated for the Booker Prize, but did not win it.

Gurna’s 10 novels also include Remembrance of Departure, The Path of the Pilgrims, Dottie, Admired Silence.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Must read

Latest articles

- Advertisement -